family · life

Change is Scary

I’ve had a lot on my mind lately… doesn’t everyone? Let’s make a list, shall we?

A new baby
Medical bills (new monthly bills)
Back to work (a new routine)

Okay, maybe only three things, but these three things are starting to make a big impact on my stress level. When I am stressed, particularly about money, I usually let myself get very anxious. I’m a problem solver, and if someone is complaining (in this case, me), I want to fix it rather than sitting around and dwelling on it. Since dwelling doesn’t help, some would say “just have patience” or “God will work it out”. Patience is great, but I don’t have that, and I know God will work it out, but what about my part? He gave us brains for a reason. Let’s get things done!

So, I look for ways to make more money on top of my full time job. I look for ways to cut expenses. Well, I’ve cut as many expenses as can be cut, and I begin to weigh my priorities as far as working a second job is concerned. Do I want more money or do I want time with my family?

Not to be morbid, but if something happened to any one of my kids, or my husband tomorrow or within the next year… would I be so thankful that I knocked off 2,000 dollars or more off of my debt or be more regretful that I wasted time for that extra dollar? It would, no doubt, be the latter.

After years of fighting two options 1. dwelling or 2. solving, I’m finally coming to an acceptance of third option: trusting God. Two simple words that can seem so, so impossible, but I think of it this way: maybe this is something I need to work on inside of myself.

Maybe it is not the income I need to fix, or the budget I need to analyze for the millionth time.

Maybe it is my patience level.

Maybe it is my relationship with God that needs to be nurtured daily.

Maybe it is the connection and time I need to give to my children.

Maybe it is the help that my husband needs at home.

Change can be scary, but if we choose to be still, take steady breaths, and look at what is right in front of us it can be very rewarding. It can not only affect your current circumstances, but change your life and relationships for the long term.

Being intentional is so, so important. What are you trying to ignore, or change in your life? What baby step can you implement to take a step forward for the better? Maybe you just need to take a breath. If a breath is what you need, then take it and don’t forget to thank God for it (we should do those two things, everyday.. regardless!!)

“Be still and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” Psalm 46:10 NIV

“Whatever is good and perfect comes down to use from God our Father, who created all the lights in the heavens. He never changes or casts a shifting shadow.” James 1:17 NLT

via Daily Prompt: Cusp

Leave a Reply

